onceuponarealityproductions

The Wendy Darling Initiative.

In Uncategorized on February 8, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Hi, I’m Wendy. 

I’ve dated or swooned for more Lost Boys than I care to admit. I’ve kept the window open at night hoping with every fiber of my being that the men of my past will suddenly want me back, and fly back through the window. If life got overwhelming, I  would escape as fast as I could. I’m a dreamer and I’m a sucker when it comes to men. I choose men who don’t want to grow up, because in reality, I don’t want to grow up…

Sometimes, even Wendy must grow up. Not too much, or life would be quite boring. I promise you that the sound of a fart will make me laugh until the end of time. If I see a puddle, I will always be tempted to jump in it. And if I see a tree, I’ll want to climb it. These things will never change. I’m a 26-year old Wendy who has finally figured out what I want to do with my life. Its not conventional by any means. I just want to be a storyteller. That’s all I’ve ever wanted. When I graduated from high school, everyone wanted to know what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. In every essay that I submitted to potential colleges, I wrote the same thing:

“I want to tell stories. I want to inspire people. I want to change the world.” 

Its taken me 26 years to decide how exactly I wanted to do this, but I think I finally figured it out. I feel like I’ve learned more about myself in the past month, then I’ve learned in my entire life. I’ve realized what’s truly important to me, and the people who are truly important to me. Its a funny thing when a Wendy finally figures things out. You start to realize how many people you allowed to take advantage of you in the past. You start to realize that you let people treat you like you were replaceable. You let people disrespect you. You let people make you believe that it was ok for them to treat you that way. You let people make you question your feelings. You let people make you believe that you were mistaken.

I’ve left the window open. I’ve waited. I’ve given 2nd chances to people who didn’t deserve them. I’ve mistaken stupidity for understanding. I’ve played every game in the book, hoping that in the end, someone would fly through the window and realize how great they had it. What I’ve realized after walking the plank, and running like hell from the crocodiles….is that I’m always in control of my life. No one else. It does me no good to blame the Lost Boys in my life. Recently, I was blatantly honest with myself. And it was scary. I flew back to Neverland and I took a good look around. I was honest with myself about a couple things…

I’m not that crazy party girl that I used to be.

I want kids one day.

I know that it’ll be awhile before I settle down, but I’m not scared of what I want.

I want a guy who returns to the window and isn’t scared off by my ridiculousness.

I deserve these things. I deserve to be kept around.

And most of all, I deserve someone with a sense of adventure. I deserve someone who doesn’t want to grow up….

Leave a Reply

