onceuponarealityproductions

I’m the human version of my cat.

In Uncategorized on December 6, 2011 at 4:34 am

I’m the human version of my cat.

Its a very strange realization at 8:20 on a Monday. I’m the human version of my cat. I was watching an episode of “Project Runway” the other day. The assignment was to select a puppy from a whole group of puppies, and design an outfit for it. Each designer (without realization, of course) selected a pup that resembled their own appearance/personality. Is it possible that we pick our pets to match our personalities? I have two kitties. One is named Eva Donut…the other, Crunch-bite Caboose. Me and my pets recently moved in with another human and his cat. I figured the adaptation process for my cats would be simple. Eva could care less about the other cat and often hangs out on her own or next to me….while Crunch-bite desperately seeks the attention of the other cat. Demanding to be noticed. Demanding to be played with….even at the expense of his own dignity. He doesn’t take ‘no’ for an answer. If the new cat doesn’t want to play, Crunch-bite takes that as, “Well, I’m gonna chase you til you change your mind cuz I swear this shit is BOMB.” He slides under beds to play. I have even seen him sit on the floor for 20 minutes completely focused on the other cat as he sleeps on a table.

Crunch is obsessed. He looks at life as if everything is playing hard-to-get, and if he sprints for all of it blindly, he’ll get what he wants.

I’m like my cat.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve sprinted for a guy who clearly doesn’t want me…nor can I even recall how many times I’ve desperately looked at my cell to see if I had a missed call/text/voicemail…basically any sign of life from the other human. I can’t tell you how many times another human has clearly hissed, “I’m so not looking for a commitment of any sort, and I’ve been a victim/wounded/completely destroyed by another woman therefore I can’t possibly make room for you in my life”…only to have me hear, “So you’re saying there’s a chance….” I take it back, I’m not like my cat…I’m like Jim Carrey’s character in “Dumb and Dumber.” Please tell me you got the reference.

So I’m like my cat. Persistent. Unaware of consequences. And silly.

I’m slowly turning into my other cat, Eva. Aloof and playing hard-to-get…but don’t worry…she doesn’t seem like she wants attention, but she’ll turn clingy at the drop of a hat. I’m not ready to let go of my silliness quite yet.

Leave a Reply

