onceuponarealityproductions

Fairy Tales are trendy…

In Uncategorized on October 3, 2011 at 11:56 pm

I sit in my apartment blasting the flying theme from Peter Pan.….

Both the animated and the live-action version.

I also blast the flying themes from Hook.

I watch Snow White when I need a nostalgic cry. I watch Beauty and the Beast when I want to sing and cry. I watch Aladdin when I want to sing, dance and cry. My first job was at Disneyland because I figured if I was going to have to have a job, then I might as well have one in the land of make-believe. I get disturbed when I see little girls skipping around in princess costumes…only because I wish that those damn dresses still fit me. I believe in happily ever after. I believe in once upon a time.

Hell, I even believe in The End.

I believe in knights in shining armor…especially the ones who share their outlets at Starbucks or the ones who take two seconds to ask you something more clever than, “So tell me about your life.” The guys who can laugh it off when you make fun of them, and the guys who aren’t intimidated by your strengths.

All of these things that I want. All of these things that I adore. This is what makes me…me…unique…a victim of Fairy Tales…The things that make me a nerd…

Now, the fairy tales have gotten a face lift. The princesses are stunning. The princes wear costumes that actually look legit. Fairy tales…dare I say…are getting trendy. There are a number of Fairy Tale themed productions coming out…

The Untitled Snow White, Snow White and the Huntsman, and Neverland (tv series), Once Upon a Time (TV series). I can’t lie. I’m excited for all of them. My only fear is that fairy tales are suddenly going to be a fad. What about all of the pathetic souls like myself who are unique only because we have eaten up these stories for the past 20-something years of our existence? Are we suddenly cool? Are we going to suddenly fit in? The one thing that I’m grateful for, is that “Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland” is now within the realm of trendy. It seems the show has touched on a topic that is about to explode in the media world…so I guess..what I’m trying to say…is I’m ok with that…

Leave a Reply

