onceuponarealityproductions

Silly Princesses…

In Princes Don't Live in Cyberland on August 31, 2011 at 8:56 pm

‘Happily Ever After’ doesn’t have to be something that you just grow out of…a true story about three generations of women.

“Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland” is a true story based on being raised by two completely different marriages. There was the marriage of my parents, which has lasted 31 years. There was also the marriage of my grandparents, which was anything but perfect. Throw in just about every Disney fairy tale, along with a dating history of every type of guy in the book…including a Peter Pan…yes. I dated a Peter Pan….and you get a comedic 3-woman show .  I wrote the show about 8 months ago, and along with directing it, I’m also playing myself. My gramma is being played by Cat Day, and my mom is being played by Beth Bryson. The show opens September 20th at ComedySportz Theatre in Hollywood. To kick off the adventure, the cast and I had a “Modernized Fairy Tale” photo shoot at Hollywood and Highland. I used the classic Disney fairytales that I was raised with for inspiration….

What if Snow White met her prince singing next to a disgusting trash can instead of a glamorous wishing well?

What if love was as spontaneous as getting fit into the glass slipper on an escalator system?

What if Sleeping Beauty danced with her prince in the middle of a busy intersection, rather than an enchanted forest?

What I discovered, was the outcome is the same…Fairy tales are still beautiful. The images still represent love, no matter if its in a cartoon where birds are singing, or whether its in the middle of the day in Hollywood. The way we perceive love has never changed.

Special thanks to the talented and wonderful Jenny Rae for shooting our photos. Her spontaneighty and creativity is always present in her work, and lets face it, she’s the quirkiest/cool nerd I’ve ever met…and no one could’ve made the shoot more fun. To view her work, and to learn more about her company “Lil Rae Cakes” visit:

http://www.facebook.com/LilRaeCakes

http://www.jenny-rae.com/

Also, special thanks to the princes at the shoot: Will Green (Snow’s Prince), Peter Weidman (Prince Charming), Kevin Williams (Prince Philip).

And finally…shout out to my gorgeous and talented princesses. They’re gonna ROCK IT in the show. Come see me, Beth Bryson (Mom) and Cat Day (Gramma) on Sept. 20th and 21st at ComedySportz.

www.onceuponareality.com

Leave a Reply

