onceuponarealityproductions

Grimm vs. Disney

In Uncategorized on August 31, 2011 at 9:30 pm

If there’s the slightest possibility that we can retain a memory from an age as early as 5 years old…then I have retained the following memory….

I was 5 years old. My parents had thrown me a Snow White party. I was wearing white lacey tights. White shoes. A rhinestone tiara. And a baby pink dress. All of my childhood friends sat in the backyard at tables covered in pink tablecloths. My play house was decorated with Snow White characters. All of a sudden, the music playing in the background swelled. The song, “Someday My Prince Will Come” started to blast. The gates to the backyard swung open, and Snow White, Dopey and the Prince walked into the yard. My eyes were glued on the prince. I was so nervous, all I could do was stare. He walked right up to me…kneeled down, and handed me a yellow rose with a yellow ribbon tied to the stem.

That moment cursed the rest of my dating history growing up…

I thought that that, was what love was supposed to look like….

My play, “Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland” is based off of this very idea. I was raised on Disney fairy tales. As an adult, it is easy to point the finger and say, “I’m so screwed up because of Ariel and Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella, etc…”

Here’s the truth, maybe we’re better off…

The Disney fairy tales are based off of the tales of Hans Christian Anderson and Grimm Brothers. Hans Christian Anderson was the one who punished the hero characters…aka…Ariel wasn’t supposed to live. And she definitely wasn’t supposed to attain her Prince Eric. Sleeping Beauty was raped by the prince while she was sleeping.  Grimm Brothers did a great job of actually punishing the villains (The step-sisters get their eyes pecked out,), but the hero has so much crap to get through…Snow White was “almost killed off” 3 times by the evil queen before she had a chance in hell at being saved by the prince.

Sure, maybe symbolically…the Grimm Brothers had it right all along. We’re more likely to get hurt, then to find ‘happily ever after’. Sure, maybe Disney gives us false hope. But lets face it, my parents wouldn’t have been married for 31 years if they didn’t believe in something. No one would ever put enough trust in love if all we believed was that people were trying to betray us and hurt us. So no matter what fairy tale you believe in, take a chance once in awhile….I have to tell myself this same thing repeatedly.

  1. I know! When I finally read the tale of Snow White and The Little Mermaid I was very confused and didn’t know how to respond, but I keep that little bit of Disney magic in my heart and maybe someday after enough anguish and torture my prince will save me. lol

  2. Snow White characters have always been a joy; Grimm, Disney, and any other versions. It’s fun to keep things mixed up.

Leave a Reply

