onceuponarealityproductions

Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland: Production Blog #1

In Princes Don't Live in Cyberland on August 13, 2011 at 4:45 am

Hey kids-

So…originally…when I first started writing this blog..the point was to have a blog to complement my website for the 3-woman show, “Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland.”

But here’s the thing…producing a play was waaaay more complicated than I imagined. So a few months later, things are starting to take off. From here on out, I’m documenting the production process for “Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland” via da blog.

Don’t worry. If you adore my silly rants, you’ll still find it all here.

Production update for Princes:

The show was originally written via a couple interesting blogs on myspace a couple years ago. I was the single girl trying to figure out why the hell I was having so many problems with guys. Then I realized something…I was the problem. Not the guys. I was picking the wrongs ones continuously, and I didn’t know why I was doing it. Then I looked at my DVD collection. It was all Disney fairytale movies. Not only that, but I worked at Disneyland in entertainment for a number of years, and was used to having princes and princesses being the center of my universe.

No wonder my perception of love was so demented.

The plus side, is I’m the product of a marriage that has lasted 31 years. Congratulations Mom and Dad!

The downside is…I should have things figured out…and the up side is…I don’t.

So I’ve let the journey begin via this play of mine. I turned my blogs and experiences into a 3-woman show.

The show documents my journey to finding love and is told through 3 generations of women. Gramma…mom..and myself. It traces a childhood of being raised on fairytales and the impact it has on dating in the real world, as well as follows the very different and unexpected relationships of these 3 women. Whether its fairytales or reality…nothing is as it seems. 

After the show was written, the table-read process began. After the first read-through, a huge re-write began. Then came the search for the perfect venue….which was the trickiest part. I landed on the ComedySportz theatre in Hollywood for the premiere. Signed the contract. Picked up the keys to the rehearsal space. Got so nervous I could’ve blacked out driving home.

It was actually happening.

I’ve been overwhelmed with the amount of support I’ve received in such a small amount of time. Daily texts/voicemails from family wishing me luck on the production process. Friends volunteering their time and talent to help me get this show on its feet. My little brother, who always takes the time to read the things I write and still tells me that he’s proud. And finally..my parents…who so lovingly support this show and who have believed in it from day one. In fact, I can guarantee that the show wouldn’t be as far along without them constantly pushing me to believe in the story as much as they do.

The first rehearsal was a couple days ago. I was so scared shitless. I’ve never followed through with a project the way I have with this one. No one tells you that dreams can be scary. They tell you that they’re beautiful. That its easy. That they’re made of gum drops and unicorn droppings. Here’s the thing, following through on dreams is one of the scariest things you can ever do. I literally couldn’t keep food down the day of the 1st rehearsal. My mom drove out to Hollywood to sit in on the first rehearsal. She brought the cast a bottle of champagne to toast the first night. We shared family stories that add depth to the story. I’m extremely lucky. There’s a lot of love in my family. I can’t wait to share this story with people.

I’ll be posting on the show daily, but for now…here’s some sites to check out for show info:

The official website: www.onceuponareality.com

Facebook Fan Page

Twitter (That Prince Show)

Leave a Reply

