onceuponarealityproductions

You belong in the circus.

In Uncategorized on July 30, 2011 at 3:43 am

Every kid fantasizes about running away.

Some dream about taking a leap out their window and flying to a different place. Some with less active imaginations, dream of packing a fanny pack and crawling out their bedroom window in the middle night, armed with the protection of a flashlight.

I didn’t want to run away to spite my parents.

I didn’t want to run away because I was scared.

I wanted to run away because I wanted a new and obnoxious adventure.

I saw no point in sneaking out of my bedroom window in the middle of the night. I wanted to see more than the street lamps that stood in the haunting moonlight. I wanted to hear more than the neighboring dogs yapping out of sheer boredom.

I wanted to run away and join the circus.

When I was a kid, this fantasy haunted me. What the hell would I do if I actually ran away and found a circus? I have no skills or strange traits to share with the world.

Come see the completely average girl who stands at a completely average height of 5’5″!

Come one, come all, and see the pig lady! She has the laugh of a new-born piglet! One more snort and she might grow a tail!

As a kid, I had no clue how to find the circus. Didn’t know what kind of offering I could give to them where they would actually want me to be a part of their clan. All I knew…was I wanted it…a gypsy livelihood, where the only thing you worry about day to day…is being happy.

The slightly more grown-up version of me no longer sits by her window at night contemplating running off. Somewhere along the road, you realize you don’t have to run off to make things happen in your life. You just have to believe that you aren’t average. That you have something worthy of offering this crazy circus…and you need to climb up to the high rope and walk across the damn thing and never look back.

  1. I love it Erika, welcome to the circus! =)

Leave a Reply

