onceuponarealityproductions

I’d like to live in a French film.

In Rants on June 5, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Every day I feel like I go through a different phase. Sometimes, I repeat certain phases. I’ll experience an extremely nerdy day. Or a skanky day. Or an alcoholic day. Or a writer day. In this rainbow of phases, I’ve discovered that the sum of all of it equals this quirky personality that continues to develop. Today, my French phase re-surfaced.

It happened after a cup of coffee. Two cups of coffee. I was watching the final season of Sex and the City…the episode where Carrie learns french and moves to Paris with the a-hole aka Alexandre Petrofsky. I was sighing through the entire episode. I realize that I can’t afford to hop a plane and visit Paris. But damn it. Why can’t my life be a french movie? Or a french movie from the 60’s? It all started with A Woman is a Woman. The gorgeous costumes. The blue and green eyeliner. The wine glasses. The dialogue. I was hooked.

My life has to be a french film.

This was the scene that stole my heart:

Then came Amelie….and I knew. My life needs to be french. Every scene of my life has to come from a french film. Oh, Audrey Tautou….I want to be you when I grow up.

Until then, at least I have your movies….if you haven’t seen Priceless, do yourself a favor. So well-written and charming….and it makes me want to be a gold-digger.

Damn you coffee. Damn you for giving me unrealistic goals. I know I can’t jump through the screen and appear in a 60’s french film…but if I could…I would. At least I would today.

Leave a Reply

