onceuponarealityproductions

The appeal of the Dive: The search for the New Mclaren’s.

In Rants on June 3, 2011 at 11:22 pm

How I Met Your Mother.

My favorite show. Pretty sure I quote it at least once a day.

In case you haven’t seen the show, there’s a billion reasons to love it. Neil Patrick Harris’s portrayal of Barney Stinson has to be one of the best characters on TV. I fall more in love with Marshall (Jason Segel) as each episode passes by. But the one character that gets overlooked, yet holds the entire show together…is the bar….

McLaren’s is the Dive. I want a McLaren’s in my life.

McLaren’s is the only place you ever drink at. It’s the place where you can always find someone you know…

Cue “Cheers” theme song…

P.S…if you haven’t watched “Cheers” since you were a small child…do yourself a favor and re-watch it on instant netflix. The writing blows my mind every.time. They never leave the bar, and its still genius!

I’ve begun searching for my McLaren’s and I’ve found a couple close calls. My top two choices are “RobinHood’s” in Sherman Oaks…and coming in a close 2nd, is “Fox n’ Hounds” in Studio City.

So, what’s the big deal with the dive? You don’t have to deal with pretentious people. The drinks are reasonably cheap. You’re allowed to wear jeans. I don’t know why, but every time I drink at a dive bar, I feel like I’ll find a story. I feel like something interesting will happen….no pressure, dive bar. Even if nothing interesting happens, I promise you…I’ll still have a great time.

And now…I leave you…with some great bar moments…among other things…

  1. Legen…..wait for it…..

  2. I’ve finally caught the HIMYM fever. I know I’m super late to the party, but thank goodness for Netflix. I’m a little more than half way through Season 3 and it just keeps getting better. One of my favorite moments of television, maybe ever, was when they ended “The Bracket” with the Doogie Howser throwback. Also, the song at the end of “Slapsgiving.” I’d love to find a McLaren’s, too. But then I’d also need a Marshall. It’d fit right in with my search for my own Chocolate Bear to my JD.

Leave a Reply

