onceuponarealityproductions

I live my life inside of an Elton John song…

In Uncategorized on May 12, 2011 at 5:31 am

When I look back on my childhood, there are very significant memories that I associate with each of my family members. When I look back on my childhood memories of my mother, these are the memories that always come to mind…

1) The fact that my mom loved Disneyland just as much as I did, and that she would let me ditch school so that she could take me.

2) The way my mom would sing “You are my sunshine” to me at bedtime.

3) Listening to Elton John songs with my mom in the car…

Memory #3 was an interesting one. My mom is a huge Elton John fan. As a kid, I learned the lyrics to every Elton John song simply through osmosis….and I loved it. I didn’t understand what the hell I was singing about, but I loved the music. I loved knowing the lyrics. I loved belting out words that so many people cherished.

Elton John was my first concert. I was my mom’s date. I requested that I get my hair sprayed neon purple for the occasion. I don’t know why that was important to me, but it was. When I learned how to play piano at the age of 6, one of my first song books that I wanted was an Elton John song book….which ended up sitting inside of a piano bench for years until I progressed enough to actually be able to play anything in it.

Now I’m 26…

I was listening to KOST “easy listening” the other day, and “Your Song” came on…followed by “Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart.” Nostalgia flowed through my veins…it felt more amazing than 10 red bulls at a dance party in the 60’s. I ran home to listen to other Elton John songs…to rediscover my childhood…to actually pay attention to the lyrics…

What I discovered was incredible…I’m living my life inside of an Elton John song….

When I was a little kid, my parents always told me that I would be a writer….I didn’t want my life to be that simple…I wanted to try different things…experience different things…take the wrong path once in awhile…or 10 times in awhile…

Hey kids, plug into the faithless

maybe they’re blinded

but Bennie makes them ageless

we shall survive, let us take ourselves along

where we fight our parents out in the streets

to find who’s right and who’s wrong

And I was wrong…most of the time.

I’m ok with that. I’m the kid who is a repeat offender when it comes to making mistakes. I never get it right the first time. I like making mistakes. I genuinely love it. I love being rowdy. I love being carefree. I figure I only live once.

Don’t give us none of your aggravation

We had it with your discipline

Saturday night’s alright for fighting

Get a little action in

Get about as oiled as a diesel train

gonna set this dance alight

Cause saturday night’s the night I like

Saturday night’s alright

Sometimes, you can make the majority of your mistakes at a local bar…sometimes….you make mistakes in matters of love…or do you? Is it ever really a mistake? Even if we know its a mistake going into it? Absolutely nothing replaces that feeling you first feel once you allow yourself to feel….

So excuse me forgetting, but these things I do

You see I’ve forgotten if they’re green or they’re blue

Anyway the thing is what I really mean

Yours are the sweetest eyes I’ve ever seen…

Sometimes, you try everything you want to try…you spread your wings and figure yourself out…and what you end up figuring out..is that you might’ve found happiness doing the one thing that your parents knew you’d be happy doing…back when you were a kid, and they’d watch you write your stories on a little piece of paper…and they’d stand in the doorway grinning…knowing that even as a kid, you figured out what you loved… I think my parents always knew I’d come back to writing. I think they always knew that I’d have to go out into the world and figure things out…but I think they knew in the end, I’d be back at a table writing my little stories down for someone…anyone…to read…

So goodbye yellow brick road

where the dogs of society howl

you can’t plant me in your penthouse

i’m going back to my plough

back to the howling old owls in the woods

hunting the horny back toad

oh i’ve finally decided my future lies

beyond the yellow brick road

I stumbled upon one of my favorite Elton John songs…its a LONG one…but worth a listen…Also…I FINALLY posted the website for the play I wrote, “Princes Don’t Live in Cyberland”…be sure to check out the site: www.onceuponareality.com

Leave a Reply

