onceuponarealityproductions

The moon and i.

In Rants on April 14, 2011 at 3:53 am

I was recently watching a movie with my mom…and the main character admitted that when she was a kid, she believed that the moon followed her everywhere.

My mom burst out laughing.

I didn’t think it was funny. I thought it was sweet…then my mom looked at me and said, “You used to believe the same damn thing. It was hilarious.”

As soon as she said it, it struck a memory with me.

I honestly believed the moon followed me.

I must’ve been a pretty self-absorbed kid…to think that a busy moon had all the time in the world to follow my sorry ass around throughout the night. But I know that I’m not the only child who thought this…

The older we get, the less we believe that the moon follows us. We know that its just our eyes playing tricks on us.

We don’t trust that it’ll be there. We figure the moon is too damn busy and has too many other prior engagements to make sure that we’re ok once in awhile. We lose faith that people worry about us. We lose faith that people care about us. And as we start to lose faith in all of these things, we start to quickly lose faith in ourselves. It gets easier to question your dreams. It gets easier to get caught up in the day to day nonsense…and one day…you find yourself stopping yourself in your tracks, and asking yourself one simple question…

What the fuck am I doing, and how did I get here?

You’re allowed this moment. You’re allowed to question yourself. You’re allowed to have a few “What the fuck” moments in life. Its those kind of moments that stop you in your tracks, and force you to turn around.

And I guarantee that if you stop yourself in your tracks once awhile, you’ll see that damn moon sitting right behind you. We might’ve gotten older, but somehow, the moon still sticks around. It still knows that it is needed.

When I was a kid, I had a music box that my grandma gave me…it played the following song, which is fitting because

1) it discusses the moon

2) it includes cats and memories…and for a cat-lady like me, its well…kinda perfect.

Goodnight moon. You’ve been damn good to me.

Leave a Reply

