onceuponarealityproductions

I choose not to grow up.

In Sexy Nerd. on March 20, 2011 at 10:27 pm

I think every person has seen that one movie that has changed them.

It’s the movie that made you decide that you wanted to go to film school. It’s the movie that made you realize that you should be doing something different with your life. It’s the movie that helped you to see life in a different way.

The movie that I genuinely remember having an impact on me…was Hook.

I went to see the movie in theaters with my Dad. I remember being awe-struck. Completely at a loss for words. I remember leaving the theater and being upset that Jack and Maggie had somehow won the parental lottery. I mean, c’mon…they had Peter Pan as a father.

I have since forgiven my father for not being Pan the Man. However, my dad’s name is Peter…and to make it more weird…my mom’s name is Wendy.

I shit you not.

My parent’s names are Peter and Wendy.

My childhood was filled with relatives calling me Tinkerbell

Which technically makes no sense because Peter and Wendy didn’t give birth to a fairy…I mean c’mon…read the books people.

But still…my parent’s names are Peter and Wendy.

And I’m obsessed with Hook.

It was the first soundtrack that I ever fell in love with. It was the first movie that made me realize that I’m in love with the music of John Williams…even though I technically already knew his music from other movies. I can quote the movie from beginning to end. I can’t actually tell you how many times I’ve seen it. I burned through the DVD…now I’m stuck watching it on instant Netflix. As an adult, its the movie that makes me feel like a kid. The movie that makes me feel like anything is possible. The movie that makes me believe that you can make a shit ton of mistakes, and still somehow…make it through to something better in your life.

When I was 15, I went to the Whiskey A Go Go for the first time. Don’t ask why a 15-year old was at a club…I was just that awesome. I went to go see the band, “Brown Fly Dragons.” The lead vocalist was Dion Basco, and my cousin was friends with him because she worked on a tv show with him…so bottom line…his brother, Dante is there to show him moral support….

Dante…Rufio. He was wearing an all-white suit. He looked like such a bad-ass. And the 15-year old version of myself marched straight up to him and gave him a hug. He looked at me with the oddest expression on his face, and I just said, “I love you. That’s all I wanted to say.” And I walked off.

26-year old me isn’t quite as bold, however I have developed a Peter Pan Complex. I try not to grow up. I try to remember to see the joy in life daily, and not worry about the crap that’ll get me down.  Here’s a toast to one of the best frickin’ movies that I’ve been watching since I was 6 years old….I salute you with the Hook Remix, created by the sweet musical stylings of Pogo. This guy rocks.

Leave a Reply

