onceuponarealityproductions

self-express yo’self.

In Rants on February 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm

I once told my friend the following…

I wish that life were a musical…until then, I’ll have to find other ways to justify my over-the-top actions.

Sometimes, something happens that is so incredible.

And you just have to dance.

Last night, I watched the Oscars, and it was clear that Colin Firth was thinking the same thing…

I started screaming at the tv..

Dance Colin! Do it!

He didn’t.

But it is ok.

Why don’t we do it?

Why are we so afraid to humiliate ourselves?

Here’s the thing.

We’re all human.

One morning I was driving through Hollywood, and trying to ease my way through a stressful morning. The way I usually do this, is to talk to myself. As soon as I talk through the nonsense in my head, its as if my brain can relax for a minute. Its as if someone recycled the contents, and things are more clear.

So it is first thing in the morning. And I’m talking to myself. I looked off to the right hand side as I was talking, and noticed a homeless man doing the same thing.

Talking to himself.

Sorting through whatever clutter was in his head that morning.

And we bonded.

He doesn’t know this, but I do.

Bonded.

Shared in a human experience, and on that very morning, we chose to express ourselves in the same way.

Today, celebrate self-expression.

I’m not saying go to a museum and look at other people’s art.

Just be you.

Be your loud, silly, singy, dancey self.

The world won’t laugh.

Hell, we’ll applaud you.

One of my favorite movies portrays this idea so well…and I smile every time I watch it.

Leave a Reply

