onceuponarealityproductions

red bull gives me…nostalgia.

In Rants on February 26, 2011 at 12:10 am

I went grocery shopping as soon as I rolled out of bed this morning…and as I wandered to the self-checkout station, I saw the red-bull fridge.

Just sitting there.

Grinning at me.

With his mischevious smile that clearly screamed, “1.99, baby. Come take me away.”

And I did. I delightfully took the can, and giddily put it in the fridge to save for later.

I actually looked forward to “later.” I looked forward to guzzling my red bull. I’m a fan of the energy drinks, but I’ve slowly let it out of my life. Until today. I cracked open that can, and the first sip took me back to college.

No other energy drink does this to me.

The first sip took me back to my story structure class…the class where I got so dramatically hung over, that only red bull could cure me.

The next sip took me to the backseat of a car. Crammed in with a couple other people. Wearing some ridiculous costume. Listening to ridiculous music. Heading to a ridiculous party. And adoring every second of it.

The following sips took me to Starbucks. Cramming for a mid-term that I had forgotten about…an hour before the test. Relying on a photographic memory that only red bull could give me, as I memorized page after page.

Sitting in the editing bay at school trying to teach myself how to use final cut pro. Spending hours running around the lab trying to edit hours of footage into 4 minutes…for a project that was due that evening.

There was something about that portion of my life, where time was always of the essence. I could’ve been more organized. I could’ve gotten the work done earlier. I could’ve gone to less parties. But then, it wouldn’t have been the experience that it was. I wouldn’t have made a fool of myself in that story structure class, when I started arguing with my teacher that Disney sequels are just ridiculous…totally forgetting in my moment of passion that she was the writer of Hunchback of Notre Dame 2. In life, I might not be wearing a cape to show you that I have sweet powers….but damn, the wings aren’t too bad.

Is it bad that I’m craving another?

Seriously.

 

Leave a Reply

