onceuponarealityproductions

a walking musical.

In Adventures with Jenko on February 25, 2011 at 8:39 pm


This morning I picked up the phone to call a friend and wish her a happy birthday. “Wish her a happy birthday” ended up turning into obnoxiously singing “happy birthday” at the top of my lungs to her voicemail. Here’s how the voicemail sounded:

“Happy birthday to you…

Happy birthday to you…

Happy birthday…”

“ERIKKAAAAAAAA!”

“Happybirthdaytoyoubye!”

The squawking “Erika” came from my mother. When I got off the phone, she burst out laughing. I asked her, “What was the meaning of that? I was leaving a birthday voicemail!”

She responds with, “Sorry. I thought you were breaking out into song again.”

My mother knows me too well. I’m completely ok with that. I’ve always believed that in her heart of hearts, she’s an actress…but she’ll never admit it…and I doubt she’ll ever see it. My whole family is a group of actors at heart. My brother produced/directed a play that he performed in when he was still in high school. To market “Reduced Shakespeare” he showed up at school dressed as a girl. My brother is the shit. My grandmother could’ve been a movie star. She was that old hollywood type to a tea. Tragic, gorgeous, bizarre. She would’ve made it. She used to put on plays in the backyard when my mom was growing up. She’d direct the shows, and all of the neighborhood kids would perform in them.

Yes, we’re a family of entertainers. We talk with our hands. We impersonate each other. We’re passionate people. I however, was the only one silly enough to actually pursue it. I am grateful for my crazy family. We drive each other crazy, but at the end of the day, I don’t feel alone in what I’m doing with my life. There’s support. And whenever things get hard, and I question every choice I make…I listen to this song….because, damn. Barbara Streisand just puts it eloquently…

Leave a Reply

