onceuponarealityproductions

Since when did Cupid become the villain?

In Dating. on February 6, 2011 at 6:40 pm

When I was a small child, my parents wrapped me up in a blanket and placed me gently in a basket. They drove hours from our home and ended up at the outskirts of the infamous witch’s lair. They hiked for two days up the mountain, with the basket in hand. When they were at the top of the mountain, the witch let them in and offered to place a curse on me. My parents, having always wanted to have a cursed child, agreed to this. The witch placed a curse that when I grow up, I shall never have a boyfriend during major holidays.

I’m positive this is not how it went down, but even if it was, I have to admit that I am not entirely ungrateful. In my adult life, whenever those holidays role around, I somehow find myself single. Some people would’ve stomped right up that witch’s mountain and knocked her off a cliff…but not me. Holidays are always associated with love, and the first thing we think of when we think of love, is the relationship. We feel like if we don’t have our soul-mate by our side on Valentine’s Day that we have somehow failed as human beings. We decide to curse Valentine’s Day and proclaim it to be an “advertiser’s fantasy in which silly lovers spend way to much money on each other.” We decide to wear black and go into mourning. We decide to drink our sorrows away. We decide to curse men, and say that we don’t need them anyway. We decide to watch too many chick flicks to figure out what we’re doing wrong.

How do I know all of this? Because, I’m guilty of doing all of these things.

This year, I’m grateful for that damn witch on the mountain, because this is the year I change my outlook.

It all started with a facebook update from one of my friends, saying that someone else might be joining us on V-day. The plan was to Suit-Up and watch a ridiculous amount of “How I Met Your Mother” all the while sipping the beverage of Robin: Scotch. As we started to make plans for that day, it was no longer about “making sure none of us single folk were alone on V-day.” Or, “doing anything in our power to forget that we are single.” It was about being with friends, and enjoying a day together that is hard to come by with our crazy schedules.

This Valentine’s Day, here is what I’m grateful for.

I’m grateful that I can say that I’ve been in love. I’m even grateful that I’ve had my heart broken. It’s called life, people. Live it.

I’m grateful for the men in my life who it didn’t work with relationship-wise. They’ve shown me what love can be, and also that friendship isn’t a consolation prize…but sometimes, friendship is the best form of love between two people.

I’m grateful that I have a fantastic father-figure in my life. Anyone who can discuss my netflix queue for an hour is my absolute hero.

I’m grateful for the love of my family. We drive each other crazy. We scream. We yell. We throw things. We disagree. But at the end of the day, we care about each other. Otherwise, we would probably just be silent.

I’m grateful for my friends. I’m spastic, A.D.D., loud and confused. Anyone who can handle that for more than five minutes and still want to keep me around, is ok in my book.

I’m grateful that I am single. Am I anti-relationship? Hell no. The one thing that people forget about when they are single, is the “hope factor.” There is the hope that something new is on the horizon.

So this Valentine’s Day, don’t forget what the day is about. It’s not about red balloons. It’s not about expensive restaurants. It’s not about maxing out your Victoria’s Secret credit card. It’s not about crying and being depressed.

It’s about Love.

It’s too bad that we need a holiday to remind us of it, but sometimes, we need a kick in the ass to get there. Happy V-day everyone, from my heart to yours.

Leave a Reply

